Assault with a deadly weapon is one of the more serious crimes in California. If convicted, you could face a slew of harsh penalties. It’s important to know what they are and to get immediate help.
What is assault with a deadly weapon?
Assault with a deadly weapon is self-explanatory. The weapon must be something that could lead to great bodily injury, and it could be a gun, knife, baseball bat, vehicle or even something like a bottle or brass knuckles.
The crime is often classified as a felony, making it one of the most serious types of offenses. However, in some cases, it might be treated as a wobbler offense, which means that a person could be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the circumstances surrounding the crime.
Assault with a deadly weapon is serious enough that anyone accused of the crime should have legal assistance. A strong defense is necessary in a case of this nature due to the consequences of a possible conviction.
What are the penalties for assault with a deadly weapon?
If a person is convicted of assault with a deadly weapon in California, there are certain penalties they might face. If the offense is charged as a misdemeanor, the penalties include a maximum of one year in county jail, a maximum fine of $1,000 and summary probation.
However, if the offense is classified as a felony, there are harsher penalties. A person convicted of assault with a deadly weapon can expect to spend two, three or even four years in state prison. They will also be responsible for a fine of up to $10,000 and face formal felony probation. The court may also require that they pay restitution to the victim.
An arrest for assault with a deadly weapon can change your life. If you have been accused and arrested, fight back to protect your rights.