Whether you find yourself in the middle of an assault case centered around an incident in which you were trying to defend yourself or assault charges have surfaced involving a former friend, partner or family member, you must understand the potential consequences of these charges and prepare carefully. Every year, many people in California face harsh penalties as a result of assault allegations, including those centered around lies and distortions.
From time behind bars to financial penalties, challenges with respect to your career and emotional distress, these accusations often have a devastating impact on those facing charges.
The penalties for assault and battery
The California Legislative Information’s site states that assault and battery charges can result in up to $10,000 in fines and years behind bars, depending on the details of the case. For example, assault involving firearms can lead to prison sentences of up to four years and $10,000 in fines. If assault involves a machine gun, one could face up to 12 years in state prison. Moreover, assault cases that involve any force likely to cause significant bodily injury carry the threat of $10,000 in fines and up to four years behind bars.
The reasons why people falsely accuse others of assault
False assault charges come up for various reasons. For example, some people cut ties with a former business partner or romantic partner and find themselves in the middle of a fight. In some instances, former partners want to exact revenge by bringing up assault allegations. In other instances, people try to prove their innocence by claiming victimhood even though the other party was trying to defend themselves.