A conviction for domestic violence is serious in California and could haunt you for years. The conviction carries an automatic three years’ probation and requires that the individual attend a special program for those convicted of the same crime once per week. This can seriously interfere with an individual’s life.
In addition, California courts must issue a protective order to protect the plaintiff, and the defendant will have to pay $400, which the state uses to fund domestic violence programs.
A domestic violence conviction can also result in jail time, anywhere from 15 to 30 days. In some cases, the courts offer an alternative to jail, the SWAP program, which is a work program and allows the defendant to stay out of jail.
Getting back on track
The defendant must meet all probation requirements. If the individual fails to meet any of these requirements, such as a failed drug test or if they commit another crime, the judge could sentence the individual to serve time in jail. Keep in mind that during probation, a defendant cannot own a firearm.
The state of California takes domestic violence and assault, and battery cases very seriously, which is why people should understand what the process entails from the moment they are arrested to when the case is closed. Every part of the case matters, and it may be complicated to do it alone.
The prosecution could offer the individual less jail time in exchange for a guilty plea. Depending on the case, the repercussions of every decision made throughout the legal proceedings can ultimately determine the outcome of an individual’s case.
Domestic violence is a serious crime, and it is always best to stay on the right side of the law. However, if you need assistance in this area, an experienced legal professional is the best option for answering questions and navigating your defense.