A conviction for driving under the influence in California can result in a license suspension, fines and even possible jail time. The state has established minimum sentences for DUI based on the factors of the case.
Review the potential penalties for a California DUI conviction before facing this type of court date.
A first-time DUI with no prior offenses results in a minimum six-month license suspension. A second conviction within 10 years of the first carries a license suspension for at least two years. The minimum suspension starts at three years for a third DUI in a decade.
Fines and court fees
The minimum fine for DUI starts at $390. However, California courts charge administration fees that total thousands of dollars in costs even for a first offense.
An initial DUI offense in California carries either probation or 48 hours in jail. The second conviction results in three years probation or 96 hours in jail. The minimum sentence extends to 128 hours for a third offense if the person does not complete probation.
Mandatory DUI education
Convicted individuals must attend 30 hours of court-ordered DUI education for a first offense. This requirement increases to 18 months for a second offense and 30 months for a third DUI offense. The court can also order additional required education for cases involving elevated blood alcohol content.
Some cases result in felony DUI charges in California. For example, DUI accidents that injure another person carry up to five years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines. The state may also impose felony charges for a fourth or subsequent DUI in a decade.